Located in the heart of the Domaine de la Verrerie, in a former 18th century Royal Glassworks, the Glass Museum is closed to the public for several years. The buildings of this major heritage site require restructuring.
But a Museum is not just a place. It is also collections. While the Domaine de la Verrerie is reinventing itself, the Nomad Glass Museum offers you a program of extramural meetings to discover glass differently, in other places.
The Domaine de la Verrerie was created 250 years ago. In 1754, it covered 400 hectares and included numerous mine shafts. Gabriel de Solages obtains authorization from the King to build a glassworks there, it will be the first Royal Charcoal Glassworks in the South West. It will operate until 1856. The Verrerie Sainte-Clotilde will take over not far, near the railway, from 1862 to 1931.
The initial castle disappeared in a fire in 1895, but a set of buildings from the 18th and 19th centuries remains today, notably the foundations of the old Royal Glassworks or the Orangery installed above in the second half of the 19th century, but also the outbuilding of the old castle, a guardhouse, the chapel and a 17 hectare park ...
In 1985, the old Glassworks was transformed into a Museum. For 34 years, the Glass Museum has shown ancient objects and contemporary creations but also has organized various events such as the Glassmakers’ Biennial or has created the workshop in 2001 to welcome glassblowers.
Today, the buildings require background work. The Museum therefore remains closed in 2020. The teams of the Community of Communes are working on the future of the premises, but such a project can be long. The objective is to revive the Domaine de la Verrerie by 2024. Also, during this closing time, the collections of the Glass Museum will travel and meet the public in other places.